Skip to content

Engraved illustration of a rough sea. The picture is decorative; the site works without it.

SectorProvisional taxonomy

Software and digital products

Targets of the software-holdco model and its comparators.

Researched companies

CompanyWhat it doesCoverage
Beacon SoftwareAI-native software holding company that acquires niche software businesses. Raised a $250m Series B co-led by General Catalyst; WSJ material reports a later $225m Series C.Profile
RocketableSoftware-acquirer candidate from the imported directory.Limited coverage

Key operating and capital evidence

Reviewed claims with a quantity, across the companies above. Definitions and periods differ by company; read the caveats.

MetricReported resultPeriod / as ofPopulationEvidenceSources
series c$225m · Accessible WSJ material reports Beacon’s $225 million Series C.Not statedIndependent reporting1
beacon round$250m (_round_total) · GC co-led Beacon’s $250m Series B.
Caveat

Round total, not GC check size; subsequent fundraising not verified here.

Not statedCompany reported1
series b$250m · Reuters reported Beacon’s $250 million Series B.Not statedIndependent reporting1

Company reports, forecasts, testimonials and independent reporting are labelled separately. A result without a stated baseline or population is not comparable across companies.

Latest articles

Building a Beacon in the Fog of AIInterview or podcastWatch/listen
Nilam Ganenthiran, Rick Buhrman, Paul Buser · Colossus / Joys of Compounding

Episode page highlights trust, permanent capital, the acquisition machine, and the operating platform. Includes useful chapter timestamps.

Letter to FoundersEssay or blogExcerpt
Nilam Ganenthiran · Beacon Software

Describes permanent ownership alongside a central operating platform, engineering help, and local company continuity.

Aravind Srinivasan; Samay Shamdasani; Arthur Fernandes Araujo; John de Wasseige · OpenAI / Thrive Holdings

Describes a practitioner-feedback and evaluation loop for Tax AI. Reports a 7,000-return pilot, roughly one-third less preparation time, and about 50% greater throughput.

OpenAI

Announced December 1, 2025. OpenAI took an undisclosed ownership stake in Thrive Holdings, the acquisition and operating vehicle launched in April 2025 by Thrive Capital, itself one of OpenAI's major investors. Rather than paying cash, OpenAI contributes embedded research, product, and engineering teams plus platform access in exchange for equity, with reporting indicating its stake grows if the portfolio companies succeed. The work begins with accounting and IT services, chosen for high-volume, rules-driven, workflow-heavy operations and aging operational infrastructure, with the stated intent of producing a repeatable model extensible to other industries. Brad Lightcap, OpenAI's chief operating officer, and Joshua Kushner, founder and chief executive of Thrive Capital and Thrive Holdings, both commented. Financial terms were not disclosed. OpenAI was valued at roughly $500 billion at the time and had recently taken stakes in AMD and CoreWeave; press coverage characterized the arrangement as another circular deal, a framing a Thrive Holdings spokesperson disputed, pointing to organic demand at portfolio companies including the accounting firm Crete. Thrive Holdings later raised $2 billion at a $12 billion valuation in August 2026.

Chronology

  1. Beacon Holdings acquires Ganazacquisitionreported or published

    Ganaz, a Seattle maker of payroll and HR software for farmworkers, has been acquired by Beacon Holdings, according to a post by its CEO Hannah Freeman, who is stepping away; terms were not disclosed. Beacon has not issued its own release.

  2. Bending Spoons IPOlistingreference supported
  3. Tax AI technical publicationoperating evidencereported or published
  4. OpenAI equity partnershipstrategic partnershipreported or published

Open questions

  • Accrual practice ownership: Keep software vendor/product-M&A classification provisional; GC taxonomy disagrees, so retain both descriptions.Beacon Software
  • Transaction sizes and largest-deal claim: Do not rank mixed enterprise values and unspecified deal values. Baldwin announcement also makes the imported largest-deal claim stale.Beacon Software
  • Dwelly acquisition count: Preserve six acquired and more than 15 signed as dated observations.Beacon Software
  • AGI ten agencies: Ten pilot partners are not ten acquired agencies.Beacon Software
  • Multiplier capital: Seed/A plus B amounts reconcile; do not infer debt capacity.Beacon Software
  • Bending Spoons listing: Listing supported; peak market cap and all acquisition claims still require validation.Beacon Software
  • Blanket permanent ownership: Record entity-specific capital duration, control and exit intentions; do not assign all platforms hold-forever status.Beacon Software
  • Two-thirds failure statistic: Find original Carroll/Mui study, dates and denominator. Failed to create value is not synonymous with destroyed value or a predictive AI-roll-up failure rate.Beacon Software
Software and digital products · AI Holding Company Research